BLOG on it

July 8, 2009

Too many things to have one title…

Filed under: Boating,cooking,Happy,Life — by chiroalex33 @ 2:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So, I’ll start with telling you the story of the vanilla extract… you might even be inspired to make your own. Its that easy.

Last week, I was reading Joy the Baker, a blog a read sometimes, and she posted about making her own vanilla extract. I was amazed at what a simple product it was to make! And here, all this time, I have been spending a small fortune on tiny bottles of the stuff at the grocery store. All this time, I could have been making my own!

vanilla beans split

vanilla beans split

First, I will tell you that  a few months ago I purchased some Tahitian vanilla beans on Ebay, from this seller. Here is a link to their website, where you can also purchase beans, extract… (but we are gonna make our own)  I had a great experience with them, and they were wonderful sellers. The beans are plump and filled with LOTS of pasty vanilla beans! I would say, this is a good place to order from, if you do not already have a source.

I have also tried Madagascar beans… and to tell the truth, I could tell the difference. I was amazed that the difference was so pronounced. I love both of them…. but I think I prefer the subtle sweetness of the Tahitian beans a bit better. I would say try them both, if you get a chance, and use them in a few things to see the difference. I bet you would also be amazed at the range of flavors!

First, you need a bottle of booze. Cheap booze. Vodka, bourbon are the normal picks. I went with the cheap vodka. I made 2 liters of it…. Maybe I bake a lot, or maybe… just maybe, if you are really nice to me….

I will bottle it up and give it away with Christmas gifts. 🙂

So, you slice the beans, put them into the booze, shake…. and viola…. after a few months, you have vanilla extract.

IMG_3536

I wanted to make ice cream with some left over cream, and milk, and I did, in fact start the ice cream… but the entire batch curdled in the pan. What a bummer…. it was a huge loss and a blow to my cooking pride.

The vanilla extract is a no-brainer, and helps to bolster morale.

I did, in fact, make a new batch of ice cream yesterday, and it turned out wonderfully! So, I guess, I am redeemed. Cooking, and especially baking is a series of mistakes,  hopefully still good enough to eat. Sadly, the ice cream fiasco was not.

But, today we have new ice cream… and start of vanilla extract!

So, over this glorious weekend, I kept trying to get to the liquor store to purchase the above mentioned cheap vodka. I talked about if for days. I would be on Miss and Mr. K’s boat and utter “dammit, please remind me to go the damn liquor store to get the cheap vodka”  Then we would be off and running on some other wonderful list of stories and howling with laughter… and….

I would never get there. In fact, I did not get there until they were back in another country.

They are so distracting, those damn Canadians… I tell you.  Always with the stories, and the laughing, and the teasing, and the harassing… and the stories, and the laughing at the dog, and the stories and the eating great food… and drinking many cocktails… and the stories and the laughing…oh, the M80’s with their fab-80’s music were in there too this weekend…

Did I mention how distracting they are?  Did I mention that we ate till our sides split, then talked and laughed until they hurt, and my cheeks were sore?

Good times. Good times.

I wish every week was the week they were here….

wait. Hold on… after the state of my abandoned house… maybe every other week?

I love you all, you make the summer even sweeter!

Can’t wait to see them on their side of the pond!

xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

3 Comments »

  1. Well I told you I finally made some ice cream with that wonderful calorie machine you inspired me to buy. I’m in big trouble now. I don’t have the discipline you do my friend. I’m going to attempt some low calorie frozen yogurt. I’ll let you know how it goes.
    I’m crossing my fingers that the wind gods hold back just for this weekend!!!

    Comment by Lynda — August 6, 2009 @ 11:11 pm |Reply

  2. OH YEAH!! And you said you were going to give us that web address for vanilla but you never did. Teeheehee, I’m soooo glad I’m not the only one who does stuff like that…hahaha:)

    Comment by Lynda — August 6, 2009 @ 11:15 pm |Reply

    • it is there… click on the word “here” and ” here” I will have to BOLD and underline them next time, because I see it doesn’t show up clearly as a highlihted link. But they do work. But did you get the email with the link? I would recommend them anyday, wonderful, quick to ship, nice juicy beans with TONS of seeds!

      Comment by chiroalex33 — August 7, 2009 @ 12:36 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.